hydration

barbie_on_a_bike  Aug 30th 2007 at 15:58
barbie_on_a_bike
Hi, I've always run, swim and cylced in isolation but have just started training with the intention of doing my first tri next year... I have a real problem with hydration and am interested to hear about timing, quantities and which products seem to work the best??

Look forward to hearing
Thanks
B

6 replies

Flan  Sep 1st 2007 at 09:15
Flan
Hi

It depends on the length of the race and the temperature. For sprints I try to hydrate with two table spoons of gatorade in a 750ml bottle on race morning, take a small bottle on the bike half full for sipping and not bother on the run.

For olympics I take a full 750ml bottle on the bike with a mild mix of gatorade or sis. I sip water on the run.

Practice during training and keep hydrated during non race days anyway

Have a good race

Phil

barbie_on_a_bike  Sep 3rd 2007 at 14:24
barbie_on_a_bike
Hi Phil
Thanks for your reply - like I said, I'm a real novice, but this seems to make a lot of sense. Looking around on the web there seems to be a biased towards Gatorade and away from Lucozade - but I can't find Gatorade anywhere??? In theory you can buy it in Waitrose but I can't find it there either.

Is it really the best rehydrator and do you have any idea why?

Thanks again
B

Teppo  Sep 3rd 2007 at 17:47
Teppo
Hi

With hydration there's plenty on different sport drinks around and you just need to find the right one for you. Just go and try which one suits for you as some for some people some sport drinks gives funny stomach. Gatorade as said to be most researched sport drink and it only coming up in uk.
And again to find out how much ou need to drink during the race we're all different so you just need to test during your training how much fluids you need. For me it about the same than what Phil said how much he takes during the race.