Looking for Training Schedule Ideas for a Sprint Tri

carmenh  Dec 17th 2009 at 03:30
carmenh
Hello,

I'm new to triathlons and I've got my first one August 2010. Its a sprint. It will be up at about 5,000 feet above sea level so I know it probably seems like its early to start training but I want to be extra ready and I'm hoping to build a foundation so I can continue with other triathlons.

I am looking for some training ideas preferably weeks that can have 10% added to them so that I can roll them into other weeks.

This is my first week and these are my results so far:

Monday Stationary Bike 30 mins on level 6 @ greater than 90RPMs
Tuesday Treadmill Running for 15mins @ 5.2 and walk for 30mins @ 4.0 with 4 incline
Wednesday Swim 450 meters
Thursday Bike 40 mins on level 6 @ greater than 90RPMs (Planned)

Workouts are at about 80-85% of my effort level.
Am I on the right track?

Thanks!
Carmen

8 replies

basicbike  Dec 17th 2009 at 17:25
basicbike
I am by no means an expert in this field, but did London OD this year and absolutely loved it. In my opinion you are probably starting out with an overly complicated plan too early on, and risk getting bored by the time it comes to April, let alone August next year!

If you search on the internet there are hundreds of free suggested training plans that will take you through a 12 or 14 week plan to get you in shape for the race. They vary in intensity to cater for beginner/intermediate/super quick and are easy to tailor depending on your time constraints.

Having said that everyone who is anyone and has some qualified knowledge suggests that you build a good base through winter and again you can find plans for this but I think some longer, steady runs, long bike rides and plenty of swim practice will stand you in good stead. At this stage I'd say you should just spend time doing all three disciplines as opposed to getting hung up on times and splits. After all you have to enjoy it.