Total Newbie PLEASE Help!!!!

andynewns  Aug 4th 2008 at 16:32
andynewns
I have been reading all the posts on here from other newbie's but they all seem to have swapped from running cycling etc, I am swapping from the Pub and the sofa.

Basically my best friend is a officer in the army and I opened my big mouth while at their summer ball, about them not being very fit and how i could do their PT with my eyes closed...... Its amazing what you will say after 8hrs of drinking.

The short of it I am now doing a Triathlon next year, and there is no way i can get out of it (MALE PRIDE as well as £50 bet)

Until this i really hadn't done any exercise since my late teen early 20's, I have now bought a road bike and ride 6 miles to work every day, and have done a couple of longer rides 26 miles etc.

I haven't started the swimming training yet which i need to as my last experince was doing my 1km badge at about 14 but have just joined a swimming club

The running is where i struggle I am a big guy, and running for me it was 100m not 10k, I have been running on the treadmil for 20min at 7.5 miles an hour, but i don't seem to be able to transfer that to the road, I run 500m and i am dying.

Running especially but any help will do :)

Cheers

11 replies

RichG  Aug 5th 2008 at 02:14
RichG
Run slowly for as long as you can, then walk for a bit, then run again. Build it up that way. Hopefully you should find that over time you will be able to increase the time you run and decrease the time you walk. People I speak to that start running seem to find a magical time limit (usually 20-30 minutes) whereby trying to run up to this time is painful, but when they can finally do it non-stop then it becomes a lot easier to run further and longer.